FOURTH EXPERIMENT

For this experiment I wanted to explore paper cutting – I knew about chinese paper cutting with scissors or knives,  but had never tried it myself.  I set about finding a design and going from there.  I found the cutting process to be difficult, perhaps I should have a thinner paper.  I was using an exacto knife but even so found it hard to obtain exact curves.  Again a thinner paper may be the answer.  Along the way I decided to alter the original design and introduce colour.  Memories of Molas (reverse appliqué)   came to mind and I feel that the end result is similar with its bold colours and simple lines.

BW_Cutpapercut

MOLA   MOLA

Leave a Reply

